Voting to continue till 10 pm; results likely after midnight

By Gopal

04 December 2021 21:04 PM | UPDATED 3 years ago

04 December 2021 21:04 PM

KATHMANDU: Voting to elect the new leadership of Rashtriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) is underway and will continue until 10 pm, according to the party’s Election Committee. Likewise, results are likely to be declared after midnight.

RPP is picking its new leadership at Bhrikuti Mandap Saturday in course of the party’s unity general convention. Kamal Thapa and Rajendra Linden filed their candidacy for the post of RPP chairperson. They have also fielded their panels.

RPP Election Committee member Raju Basnet said the counting of votes would be expedited with the target of declaring results within two hours as soon as voting concludes after 10 pm. According to him, results are likely to be announced around or after midnight today.

He added that the polling scheduled to start at 8 am this morning was delayed to manage a large number of voters and make the voting process efficient. He added that 86 electronic voting machines were being used to make the voting process efficient. For the post of RPP chair, ballot papers are also being used. As many as 4,380 delegates are casting their votes to elect the new leadership.

There are 270 candidates vying for the position of 141 central members in the RPP unity general convention. In the 199-member central committee, 141 members, including the chair, will be elected and the party chair will nominate the remaining 50 members.

Likewise, 16 candidates are vying for the eight posts of office-bearers. The RPP has four seats, including one woman, for the post of vice-chairperson and eight persons are in the fray.

Similarly, six candidates are in the fray for three posts of general secretary, including one woman.